About the Author

Mignon G. Eberhart

Mignon G. Eberhart

Mignon G. Eberhart was born on July 6, 1899 in Lincoln, Nebraska. She studied English and history at Nebraska Wesleyan University. Her first novel, Patient in Room 18, was published in 1929. During her lifetime, she wrote more than 50 novels and numerous short stories including While the Patient Slept, House on the Roof, Hasty Wedding, With This Ring, Three Days for Emeralds, and Dead Yesterday and Other Stories. She received the Grand Master Award from the Mystery Writers of America in 1971 and the Agatha Award: Malice Domestic Award for Lifetime Achievement in 1994. She died on October 8, 1996.

Find out more on the Nebraska Authors Database

Janette Duffield, of Valentine Public Library, completed some research on Mignon Eberhart during her time in Valentine from 1928-1930. While residing in Valentine, she wrote The Patient Room, While the Patient Slept, and this year's One Book One Nebraska selection The Mystery of Hunting's End.
Visit the Valentine Public Library Facebook page to see pictures of original newspapers.

Listen to Rick Cypert, Nebraska Wesleyan Professor and author of America's Agatha Christie: Mignon Good Eberhart, Her Life and Works, introduce Mignon G. Eberhart (1899-1996) in this 25 minute video. Here is a complete list of books by Eberhart with Rick's recommendations.

Listen to the 2010 Ames Reading Series talk about Mignon G. Eberhart.


The Patient in Room 18. 1929.
While the Patient Slept. 1930.
Mystery of Hunting's End. 1930.
From This Dark Stairway. 1931.
Murder By an Aristocrat. 1932.
Dark Garden. 1933.
White Cockatoo. 1933.
The Cases of Susan Dare. 1934.
House on the Roof. 1935.
Danger in the Dark. 1936.
Fair Warning. 1936.
Great Hospital Mystery. 1937.
The Pattern. 1937.
Glass Slipper. 1938.
Hasty Wedding. 1938.
Deadly is the Diamond. 1938.
320 College Avenue: A Comedy in Three Acts. 1938. (with Fred Ballard)
Chiffon Scarf. 1939.
Stranger in Flight. 1940.
Hangman's Whip. 1940.
Speak No Evil. 1941.
With This Ring. 1941.
Deadly is the Diamond. 1942.
Wolf in Man's Clothing. 1942.
Unidentified Woman. 1943.
Man Next Door. 1943.
Escape the Night. 1944.
Wings of Fear. 1945.
White Dress. 1946.
Five Passengers From Lisbon. 1946.
Another Woman's House. 1947.
House of Storm. 1949.
Five of My Best. 1949.
Hunt With the Hounds. 1950.
Never Look Back. 1951.
Dead Men's Plans. 1952.
Unknown Quantity. 1953.
Man Missing. 1954.
Postmark Murder. 1956.
Another Man's Murder. 1957.
Deadly Is the Diamond: And Three Other Novelettes of Murder. 1958.
The Crimson Paw. 1959.
Melora. 1959.
Jury of One. 1960.
The Cup, the Blade or the Gun. 1961.
Enemy in the House. 1962.
Run Scared. 1963.
Call After Midnight. 1964.
RSVP Murder. 1965.
Witness at Large. 1966.
Woman on the Roof. 1967.
Message From Hong Kong. 1968.
El Rancho Rio. 1970.
Two Little Rich Girls. 1971.
The House by the sea. 1972.
Murder in Waiting. 1973.
Danger Money. 1974.
Family Fortune. 1976.
Nine O'Clock Tide. 1977.
The Bayou Road. 1979.
Casa Madrone. 1980.
Family Affair. 1981.
Next of Kin. 1982.
The Patient in Cabin C. 1983.
Alpine Condo Crossfire. 1984.
A Fighting Chance. 1986.
Three Days for Emeralds. 1988.
Mignon Eberhart's Best Mystery Stories. 1988.
Dead Yesterday and Other Stories. 2007.